DIY: Homemade Bread

Homemade bread doesn’t have to be daunting or even time consuming. The most time spent making a loaf of bread is the rising time, and it does that all by itself, provided that you give it a nice warm resting place that is.

Fresh, homemade bread right out of the oven is amazing  and well worth the effort you put into it. It’s generally better for you than store bought bread since it doesn’t have any preservatives or additives in it and it has a much much cheaper price tag than buying an artisan loaf from your local grocery store or bakery.

You can easily make bread with just these four  ingredients:

flour, yeast, salt, and water

There are plenty of recipes that add more to the mix than this but for an extremely simple, bare bones recipe that requires no kneading you can follow this recipe.

Or you can make bread from a store bought mix that already has leavening in it. You can find bread mixes made from a wide variety of different  flours, seeds, nuts and even have dried fruits in them and ones that use leavening agents such as sourdough starter or an active dry yeast.

 

The bread that I made here was from a store bought mix that cost me 99 cents and makes two loaves.

All I had to do was add warm water, stir it, knead it, let it rise and then bake it.

It was that simple and was done in about 2 hours.

I usually make bread from scratch but I was feeling a bit lazy this week since I’m just getting over being sick, I had a pretty bad cold that wiped me out last week, and I wanted to make a sourdough loaf without having to start my own sourdough starter. You can find tips on how to start your own sourdough starter here.

Here is one of my favorite recipes for bread, one that my mom developed and made all the time when I was a kid growing up. We didn’t have much money when I was growing up, with 6 kids in the house, but we always had plenty of fresh warm bread that my mom would make for us almost every day!

1 Bag of Bread Mix (makes two loaves)

Cost per loaf: €0.49

Time:  2 Hours

2 comments on “DIY: Homemade Bread

  1. Way to go Dove! and very nicely put…

    • lvaletutto says:

      Thanks mom! This bread mix came out great. We all really liked it! And I don’t know if Richard told you but he made cinnamon rolls last week using your bread recipe. They were delicious too! Thanks for making bread for us all the time when we were growing up!

Leave a Reply

