My Grandfather’s Vest

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I started knitting this vest for my grandfather, originally for his birthday in March, but wasn’t able to finish it in time so it will now become his Easter gift.
It was rather simple to knit on two straight needles, back and forth and was mostly all in stockinette stitch (one row of knit and one row of purl) with the exception of a bit of increasing/decreasing for the arm holes and the v-neck.

I knit a size small and ended up using about 7 1/2 balls of an aran weight wool/alpaca blend yarn by Drops called Nepal.

It’s a little softer and bulkier than their 100% wool dk weight yarn, Karisma, which I like and have used for several other projects. Here are my Ravelry notes on this project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used a free pattern from the American Red Cross called:
Man’s V-Neck Sweater (Sleeveless)
This is a World War II era knitting pattern which was used to supply soldiers and refugees with warm clothing as part of a “knit your bit” home knitting campaign during that time.
My grandfather served in WWII and maybe back then he also had a vest just like this one!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7 comments on “My Grandfather’s Vest

  1. I love the vest and it looks pretty good on you too! I can see that you have been watching your weight. You look good! Love you Dove, Mom

      Bonnie

  2. Kristina says:

    It’s beautiful! Looks just perfect and elegant. I’ve knit with Drops Nepal before and really liked it 🙂

  3. Vienne says:

    Hello there, I like your vest but I cannot find the pattern on the red cross website. Can you help to send me one? or teach me how to knit the v-neck vest? thanks! my email is Viennesung@yahoo.com many thanks!!

Leave a Reply

